About Us


Federal Government College, Odogbolu was established on the 25th January, 1973. This was in line with the decision of the Federal Government to create various avenues to further strengthen the much desired unity among Nigerians after the civil war. Hence, its motto is PRO UNITATE.
The college is situated in Odogbolu Town, by the Sagamu/Benin Express Way, mid-way between Sagamu and Ijebu-Ode. Odogbolu is the Headquarter of Odogbolu Local Government Area.

The College is accessible at all seasons from two major routes: Ikenne Road and the Express way. The College spans over an area of 557.5acres with only about 30% developed and 40 % fenced. The College took off on temporary site, and students were moved from one part of Odogbolu to another for lectures, food or rest. This was known as “period of improvising” in which staff and students made use of what was available to get the desired results. The college finally moved to its permanent site in 1977.

At inception, the college had an enrolment of 85 students: 73 in form 1 and 12 in the lower sixth level. Currently, the college operates the basic Junior Secondary school (JSS) and Senior Secondary School (SSS) components in line with the National Policy on Education. The population of students has risen from 85 in 1973 to 1,933 and the analysis is as follows:

  • Total number of Day students     -    169
  • Total number of Boarders        -    1,764
  • Total number of Boys            -    1,300
  • Total number of Girls             -    633

The College has produced thousands of successful Nigerians and is still “ON THE RISE”. The Old Students Association is an emerging one and it is waxing stronger with each year.
Since inception, the college has been administered by 12 substantive Principals and 3 Acting Principals namely:

1 Mr. J.O. Abolade -    January 1973      -    April 1973
2 Mr. J.A. Banjoko -    April 1973           -     June 1977
3 Mr. G.A. Unuigboje -    June 1977            -    October 1982
4 Chief E.J. Ojo -    October 1982      -    December 1983
5 Mr. A.A. Adejinle -    December 1983       -   May 1984
6 Mr. C.C. Odinaka (Acting) -    May 1984       -   January 1985
7 Mr. G.O. Adefolaju -    January 1985       -   October 1992
8 Mr. J.O. Adewale -    October 1992       -   January 1995
9 Mr. T.O.A. Odedeyi -    January 1995       -   February 2001
10 Mr. S.A. Olarinde -    February 2001       -   July 2002
11 Mrs. O. Babalola (Acting) -    August 2002       -   June 2003
12 Mrs. O. Babalola -    June 2003       -   July 2007
13 Mr. I.A. Atiba (Acting) -    July 2007       -   September 2008
14 Mrs. I.O. Akinlaja -    September 2008   -   March 2010
15 Mrs. A.N. Bassey-Duke -    April 2010         -   till date.


Aiming at Academic Excellence and Good Conduct.

To impart in the individual child, through effective teaching in a conducive learning environment, the right attitude and skills to achieve academic excellence and good character for self reliance in a competitive society.

The Principal, Mrs. A. N. Bassey-Duke, the Vice Principals, Mr. K. T. Famuyibo, (Acad. I), Mrs. A. A. Olusoga (Admin.), Mrs. E. A. Eze (Acad. II), Mr. E.A. Chukwu (Special Duties), Mr. O.A. Olayiwola (Student Affairs). The Heads of Departments, Senior Boarding House Master & Mistress, the Bursar and the Store Officer